The Michigan Society of Fellows, under the auspices of the Rackham Graduate School, was established in 1970 with endowment grants from the Ford Foundation and the Horace H. and Mary Rackham Funds. Each year the Society selects outstanding applicants for appointment to three-year fellowships in the humanities, the arts, the social, physical, and life sciences, and in the professional schools.  We seek a diverse and international pool of applicants and especially welcome candidates from underrepresented backgrounds.

The newly appointed Postdoctoral Fellows join a unique interdisciplinary community composed of their peers as well as the Senior Fellows of the Society, who include many of the University’s leading scholars. Alumni Fellows of the Society have gone on to become distinguished scholars at institutions around the world. The Chair of the Society is Donald S. Lopez, Jr., Arthur E. Link Distinguished University Professor of Buddhist and Tibetan Studies in the Department of Asian Languages and Cultures at the University of Michigan.

In the fall of 2015, the Society of Fellows entered into an agreement with Tsinghua University, Beijing to provide three three-year fellowships at Tsinghua University.  The purpose of the Tsinghua-Michigan Society of Fellows is to promote advanced scholarly inquiry in humanities and humanistic social science fields in a collaborative intercultural setting and to foster academic exchange between the Tsinghua Institute for World Literatures and Cultures and the Michigan Society of Fellows, and at every level between Tsinghua University and the University of Michigan. The Chair of the Tsinghua-Michigan Society of Fellows is Haiping Yan, Dean of Tsinghua Institute for World Languages and Cultures.